In Search of Mycotopia by Doug Bierend

$24.95

In Search of Mycotopia by Doug Bierend

Citizen Science, Fungi Fanatics, and the Untapped Potential of Mushrooms

In Search of Mycotopia introduces us to an incredible, essential, and oft-overlooked kingdom of life—fungi—and all the potential it holds for our future. From ecology to fermentation, in pop culture, underground, and in medicine—mushrooms are everywhere. Explore the weird, wonderful world of fungi and learn about it’s capacity to improve and heal. In Search of Mycotopia demonstrates how humans can work with fungi to better live with nature—and with one another. This entertaining and mind-expanding book will captivate readers who are curious about the hidden worlds and networks that make up our planet.

Out of stock

Email when stock available

Description

In Search of Mycotopia

Citizen Science, Fungi Fanatics, and the Untapped Potential of Mushrooms

In Search of Mycotopia introduces us to an incredible, essential, and oft-overlooked kingdom of life—fungi—and all the potential it holds for our future. From ecology to fermentation, in pop culture, underground, and in medicine—mushrooms are everywhere. Explore the weird, wonderful world of fungi and learn about it’s capacity to improve and heal. In Search of Mycotopia demonstrates how humans can work with fungi to better live with nature—and with one another. This entertaining and mind-expanding book will captivate readers who are curious about the hidden worlds and networks that make up our planet.

“Mushrooms are having a moment. [A] natural sequel for the many readers who enjoyed Merlin Sheldrake’s Entangled Life.”―Library Journal

“Bierend writes with sensual verve and specificity, enthusiasm, and humor. . . . [He] introduces us to the staggering variety of mushrooms, their mystery, their funk, and the way they captivate our imaginations.”―The Boston Globe

“Nothing is impossible if you bring mushrooms into your life, and reading this book is a great way to begin your journey.”―Tradd Cotter, author of Organic Mushroom Farming and Mycoremediation

“Comprehensive and enthusiastic. . . . This fascinating, informative look into a unique subculture and the fungi at its center is a real treat.”―Publishers Weekly

“If you enjoyed Merlin Sheldrake’s Entangled Life . . . I highly recommend this book. . . . In the vein of Louis Theroux, Bierend journeys deep in the wonderfully strange subculture of the mushroom-mad.”―Idler magazine

“Engaging and entertaining. . . .Bierend proves his skill as a science journalist through interviews and experiences shared with mushroom experts and citizen scientists.”―Choice

Additional information

Print Length

336 pages

Dimensions

6 x 1.25 x 9 inches

Reviews

There are no reviews yet

Add a review
You must be logged in to post a review Log In

Related Products

Here are a few products that are some of our favorites that we think you’ll love.